What would you take with you?

burning house cherished possessions
What would you rescue if your house was burning down? Which cherished possessions would you grab at the last moment? The Burning House is a fascinating collection of visual answers to this question. The adorable items above are the special collection of a little French girl. I love the heart!

I don’t really get attached to possessions, apart from photographs, I guess we’d all take those, right? I’d be sad to lose some copies of books I have, like some first editions of T.S. Eliot’s The Four Quartets; I’ve had them for a long time and I love their old, musty smell and delicate, sugarpaper covers. And some of the clothes the babies have worn, their milk-white sleepsuits and impossibly tiny socks are so precious. And what about you? What would you take?

